english version / version française
Selected Works 1989-2008
Mike Bouchet [see all titles]
Sternberg Press [see all titles] Monographs and artists' books [see all titles]
Mike Bouchet Selected Works 1989-2008
Texts by Lucas Ajemian, Colin Gardner, conversation with Daniel Birnbaum.
published in 2009
English edition
21,5 x 28 cm (hardcover)
216 pages (171 color ill.)
ISBN: 978-1-933128-73-3
EAN: 9781933128733
in stock
First monograph on American artist Mike Bouchet: an overview of selected works from the last ten years.

“The work produced by Mike Bouchet in recent years seems to present a compulsion to alter one's place in the world by reproducing and re-contextualizing “desirable” things in and of the world. His projects and exploits are one-to-one models—real transactions with their own autonomy and agency. You cannot alter your place in the world without first altering your image of the world. Bouchet's endeavor goes beyond representation or a kind of DIY prudence, into what can best be described as a real-life parody. This artist uses everything at his disposal to grow, package, and pitch his own products. In systems such as these, even real transactions are not completely convincing, the reification of one's product through extensive image production is needed to make it completely viable.”
Lucas Ajemian
Born 1970 in Castro Valley (California), Mike Bouchet lives and works in Frankfurt.

See also: Mike Bouchet & Paul McCarthy.